August 7, 2010

Reflection Poem by Rachel Seeman

Posted in 2010 Minidoka Pilgrimage, Minidoka Pilgrimage, Minidoka Swing Band tagged , , , at 8:41 pm by rkozu

Rachel Seeman, a member of the Minidoka Swing Band and a participant on the 2008 Minidoka Pilgrimage wrote the following poem based upon her experiences at that pilgrimage.  This poem was read at the 2010 Pilgrimage by Lynn Grannan.  We’re grateful that she’s been willing to share it with other Minidoka Pilgrimage.

Rachel

But how can I tell their story
If I was not there?
How can I feel their pain and the injustice that they faced
If I was not there?
I do not know how it feels to be told that you must leave your home, friends, pets and community in five days
I don’t know how it feels to sell my business for $200
and to leave my crops and dog to strangers
I don’t know how it feels to have my family broken apart and to live without privacy in a desert
But I do know how it feels to be a proud Japanese American
To know that the Minidoka desert was turned to lush green fields by my ancestors
And to know that because of the hardships they faced
I now have more rights and opportunities
I know how it feels to be an American
I know how it feels to be Japanese American.

–Rachel Seeman

Leave a Reply

